2000-12-27
17:48:03

The holidays came, the holidays went, the holidays left a long trail of wrapping paper in their wake. I've been away from the journal for a while mainly because I've been at home with the 'rents and my free time actually decreases when I'm off work. I had a wonderful Christmas. A. and J. (my sister and her husband) were up and its always fun to hang out with them. They couldn't bring the dogs but my parent's house really isn't big enough for them anyway. You've really never lived until you share your bed with a 100lb black lab. (Did I say really never lived? I meant really never suffocated...) A. and J. and I spent all of XMas eve in at my dad's. It was actually alot of fun. The stepmom wasn't unbearable, the stepsisters actually made me laugh, dinner was good. What else? I managed to spend time with my high school friends. It was fun, but it reminded me of how much of a different person I am now than I was in high school. We are still friends, probably always will be, but I am in such a different place. I feel a distance growing and the thing that sucks the most is that the distance might not be an altogether bad thing.

Not that Christmas is all about the gifts you get, but man oh man did I make out well. It seems that mom and stepdad have actually been listening to my incessant whining about my lack of a computer for my apartment and got me one. They really went above and beyond too. The machine I have now is so powerful, it probably has a mind of its own. Way to go parents!

Usually I get into the christmas spirit well before the actual day. By the time christmas rolls around, I am basically the Christmas spirit in human form. Not this year though. I think its because I didn't do any last minute shopping this year. Nothing puts me in the mood more than dealing with crowds and arguing with a 300lbs lady over who saw the Forman Grill first. It wasn't until Christmas day when we had already opened all the gifts and my mom, stepad, sister, bro-in-law, grandmother, aunt, and cousin were all sitting around in the post-ham-and-potato glow that it really hit me how blessed I am to be surrounded by such wonderful people. (aww...Mike just went and got all sappy...how cute....)

OK, I really ave to go do some work. The other half of my little two-person team is in Africa until after the 1st so I have his workload ot carry too. Bastard. Having fun while I'm here toiling in my cube-shaped jail cell.

Later this week, I'll tell y'all about my new year's eve plans and why things could get interesting.

Till then -

Mike

2 final thoughts: To my new readers who have emailed and signed the guestbook; Welcome! Glad to have you along for the ride....

Just in case you were wondering, my fav holiday movie: White Christmas. Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye, Rosemary Clooney. Just a great flick. When they sing to the general at the end, well...its just great.

see ya!


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.