2001-01-04
15:02:50

I seriously enjoy playing hooky from work. It's a little odd that I'm thinking about this right now, because I am sitting at my desk buried under a pile of paperwork, but I find myself smiling due to the fact that I CAN call out if I want to. I was thinking about taking a personal day tomorrow, walking down to the harbor or over to Lex. Market and grabbing lunch, walking around the city, maybe dabbling in culture. Then roomie#1 says 'Dude, its a 4-day week - what are you doing thinking about calling in sick?' Unfortunately, good point. Trying to squeeze five days of work into anything less is never fun. The other half of my 2 person team just got back after being in South Africa for two weeks. (Yes, South Africa - long story) He's a little rusty and I wouldn't want to dump the increased workload on him.

So maybe I like playing hooky - but only when my conscience allows it. There's nothing better than knowing you *should* do something but that it realy won't hurt anything if you don't.

Maybe I'll call in sick next week - call it a mental health day.

So my mandate to all of you reading this is to revel in your own kind of personal freedom - trust me, its good for the soul.

later,

Mike


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.