2001-01-09
20:48:27

Ugghhh.....

I'm ready to leave this place. Every day that passes, I realize the gap between me and the type of employee who is a perfect match for this company is growing wider. I'm having one of those days that completely disproves everything the company promotes about its positive culture and the importanc of accountability and such. Yes, it is annoying, yes it is frustrating, but mostly it is spirit crushing. It makes you a cynic. Yes I am a cynic, but that doesn't mean i like being one.

I got an email from a recruiter at my sister's company last week. The recruiter wants me to call her to set up a phone interview. I did and we set up an interview for this Thursday. No big deal b/c I'll be out all morning at the doctor's, but it makes me nervous. I think I have a very real shot at getting a job with the sis' company which is really cool on one hand, but really scary on the other. The job would be in Richmond and would involve (for me) a pretty big move. I've never lived outside of Maryland (hell - I've never lived more than 2 hours from where I do now) and leaving my home of the last 24 years is a tad intimidating. I know I'm ready to live on my own, but is leaving Baltimore the right thing? I thought it was, but maybe its not. Or am i just second guessing? What if I get the job, but they need me to start asap? Do i take it and screw the roomies on the lease? Do i move to richmond, pay rent there and pay rent in baltimore so i don't have to screw the roomies on the lease? What will happpen to my local friends - the ones i see everydy? Can I maintain those friendships long distance? Am I worrying to much?

When I was 11, I was so scared by the amusement park ride that I was on that my cousin made the operator stop everything so I could get off. I remember how relieved I felt.

Stop the ride, sir...I want off.

Mike

if you get a chance, check out Shell's Diary It kicks respectable amounts of ass...


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.