2001-01-16
02:23:35

Well, as expected, the phone interview went pretty well. It could've gone better, but I'm not too worried about getting the job, so I wasn't all uptight and i think that showed in my overall demeanor. Yay me!

I dunno...maybe I'm going about this all wrong. I am close to concluding that what I'm looking for in general is change and I think I've been operating under the assumption that change in locale would be the answer. Maybe not. I love Baltimore just fine and would not mind staying here. In alot of ways leaving just doesn't feel *right* yet. I know i need a change in job, but how best to go about it? I think i need a change in living situation too. I love Roomies #1 and #2 but for 6 years now I have had roommates. I think my soul could use a little stretching out space. There is time to think on that though...lease isn't up until July.

I need someone to share all this with too. True, that last sentence does sound pathetic but I don't really mean plain old I'm-your-friend-so-I-share-this kind of sharing, I'm looking for 'To you I bear my heart and soul' kind of sharing.

A. tells me my problem is that I pursue the unattainable. (Direct quote) She even went so far as to say that that was why i went after her (ouch!). OK - so I like a challange. Or maybe everything I've ever seen that is pursuable just happens to be unattainable.

Speaking of segues, how 'bout 'dem Ravens! (BethB - since the iggles are finished for the year, I talked it over with every other Ravens fan, and we'd be happy to have you as an honorary bird-head for the superbowl...) I was down at the stadium for the game yesterday. They sold tix for 10 bucks and had all the concessions open and let us hang out in the hoity-toity club level. The atmosphere was electric. We were in the rich people's section with none of the rich people - kinda felt like we were somewhere we weren't supposed to be. Alot like when your folks were out of town and you invited your entire high school over for a party. We got drunk, we cheered our team, and lit the town up when we won. Will we go all the way? Maybe, maybe not, but last night it felt like the city was more together than it has been for a long time. The celebrations didn't happen in Federal Hill and Canton and Highlandtown and Hamden and Mount Vernon and Druid Hill and Patterson Park and Pigtown and Guilford and Govans, they happened in Baltimore. Civic Pride - Its a kick in the head, ain't it?

So I left S. a message at work on friday. Nothing heavy, just "Wanted to say hi, leaving work now, I'll catch up with you next week - have a good weekend - tell your boyfriend I said hi." Y'know, that kind of thing. So I get into work this morning and what's waiting for me? You guessed it. A leetle message from S. "Hey, I know you're gone for the day but I wanted to say hi too. Had a really hard day and it was nice to hear your voice. Have a great weekend and I'll talk to you next week." Hee. Gotta admit, I was smiling all morning. Shut up, OK.... I know she has a boyfriend and I am *not* trying to screw with that. It'd be just a little too convenient if he suddenly realized that I was a better match for her than he was.

What was it someone said about me pursuing the unattainable? I don't remember...

Mike

Oh yeah... another cool diary to check out when you get a chance. AmyDubya has a cool thing going. Check her out.




downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.