2001-03-21
06:37 p.m.

I don't want more money. (Although that would be nice) I don't want an office to myself. (Although that would be nice, too) I don't want people to swoon and concern themselves with my every professional need. (Although that would be very nice)

What I *do* want is to not be taken for granted anymore. I do want people to realize that I am not waiting around for their questions or problems. I want them to know how rude it is to drop their work on top of mine with no regard to what I was doing or how important it was. I do want the question "Are you busy" to be more than another form of Mocksie's 'Howareyoo?' If you ask me if I'm busy and I say yes, don't you think the smart thing to do would be to friggn' WAIT??? Or at least set up an appointment for us to sit down later.

And for God's sake people, think for your freakin' self once in a while. "Mike - this, this, and this are wrong with the system." "I doubt it. Have you looked in completely obvious places A,B,C,D or E?" "Umm...no" "Well that may be a good starting point." --or-- "Mike, I'm looking for some kind of report that will give me client billings by office location. I checked the list and didn't see anything similar." "Check the list again. Its called Client_Billings_By_Office_Location."

Do I coddle these people? Do I let them take me for granted? Probably. But how do I stop and how do I not be a dick about it?

I hate my job this week.
HateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHate
HateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHateHate

Its not that they're bad people either. I just wish they had some comprehension at how *hard* I work for them every single day. How much of my soul I pour into that company. And how little anyone seems to care.

Just another gear in the corporate machine.

Very much wishing I was passionate about work,

Mike


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.