2001-04-02
3:49 p.m.

I almost did it. I almost cried at work this morning. Now in general, I'm not a crier; and even if I were, I would try my damndest to not do it at work, but I almost did this morning and I'm not ashamed one bit.

Now you may be thinking, "It finally got to him. The stress, the anger, the sheer infuriation of the last month drove Mike over the edge. He broke down. Who can blame him?"

Thankfully though, you'd be wrong.

These last few weeks have been stressful and anger-filled and infuriating, but it was not a cumulation of those factors that led to my near-tears.

It was quite the opposite in fact.

My old boss, my last boss, my no-longer boss was cleaning out his desk this morning. Seems he found some things in my personell file that he didn't need anymore and were really meant for me anyway. I was having the typical wish-I-was-in-bed-or-anywhere-but-here Monday when he came into my office and said, "Hey - found these in my desk and thought you may want to take a look." He left with out another word.

As I leafed through the papers, I realized that I was holding a stack of printed-out emails.

All. About. Me.

And all overwhelmingly, beautifully, embarassingly positive. People whom I've hardly ever spoken to, people who I know very well, maintainence people, executive people, all with nice (supernice, ubernice) things to say about my work, my personality, me.

In a moment the totality of their appreciation mixed with my feelings of needing to leave this place and the uncertainty of *where I want to be* and the weight of it all was more than I could bear. Almost.

Like I said, I didn't cry. But some part of me wishes I had.

*************************************

Highly amusing assignment of the day:

Go to Yahoo!. Search on 'ways guys charm girls'

Guess what (who) you get?

Me!!!

No I don't know why, but kinda funny, huh?
If you're too lazy, Click Here.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.