2001-04-15
4:54 p.m.

This weekend I learned that being honest is alot more expensive than being devious. But it doees feel alot better.

The insurance company denied my claim for the accident. That sucks, alot, but Wanda the Honda is certainly still drivable, and I can afford repairs out of pocket. So I'm not freaking out too much. I had been trying to be sneaky by telling the insurance folks that I still lived with my folks out in Western Maryland where insurance is alot cheaper than downtown Baltimore. What I forgot, however, is that I filled out a change of address form and forgot to tell the post office where I moved. All the paperwork the insurance co sent me to sign when I got the policy back in feb was returned. No signature, no policy. No policy, no valid claim. (Yes, I did feel like a moron by this point.) At least the guy I hit didn't file (or take my info down) b/c then I'd have been royally fucked by hitting him when I was uninsured.

I was willing to eat the cost of the accident, but was still driving an uninsured car. I needed a new policy. So, I did the right thing, the honest thing. I told them where I really do live, gave them the correct address and got the quote. It is twice as expensive to insure a car in bal'mer than it is where my 'rents live. Uuuggghh. But I feel clean. And insured.

I may write more later about my weekend at the cabin, but I'm too hungry to think right now.

I'm off to the harbor for food.

Mike


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.