2001-05-21
4:02 p.m.

Well whatta ya know? Mom loved the flowers. She almost got teary-eyed thanking me for them.
Yay me!


Discovery of the Day:

The Snickers Cruncher. If you like Snickers. If you like chocolate. If you like peanut butter. If you like cruncgy things. Try this candy bar. Now. It is the perfect compliment to any sweet tooth. Mmmmm.....

(God bless the new vending machine company.)


Guilty Pleasure of the Day:

That Moulin Rouge song. You know the one: "Hey Sister, Soul Sister..." or some crap. You've sung along with it, I know you have. I should hate it. It is a purely a plastic song. It should give me the willies.

But it doesn't. It's kinda catchy...


I made a new mix last night. Any CD that has BNL and Wyclef and MXPX and Unrest and Irish Music and Aretha Franklin can't be all bad. (And Paul Simon. And Phish.)


Cynical Business Observation of the Day:

No one says "I don't know." If anyone actually does not know, they will try to talk their way around the fact and use all manner of big words and catch-phrases to disguise the fact that they are clueless.

Every once in a while, someone (me, for example) is actually comfortable with telling people that they don't have all the answers. This confuses those accustomed to hearing the normal BS talk-around-the-issues answers. Sometimes it makes them angry. As if they would rather hear the BS than the fact that, God forbid, someone doesn't have the answer to your question.

"Mike, do you know where this data pulls from?"
"No, I really don't."
"What do you mean you don't know."
"I don't. Know. I've wondered that myself."
"But I need to know the answer."
"I understand that, but I can't give it to you."
"Do you know where I can go to find out."
"Call Mark, the HR developer. He'd be a good place to start."
"But you don't know"
"Nope."
"No ideas?"
"Nary a one."
"Nary?"
"Don't worry about it - I lapse into 1800's-talk sometimes. A symptom of a past life maybe."
"So you know? Or you don't?"
"No I don't know - I have no idea."
"Nary a one?"
"Exactly."


And finally, a special question for the Balto/DC area people:

Anyone know where a good vintage clothes store is? I have a 70's par-tay in two weeks, and I want to look good. When I was in college I went to a party in these brown plaid bell bottoms and zippered yellow shirt, all skin tight. I feathered my hair and wore these obnoxious cowboy boots. It was *awesome*. An outfit like that would be kickin'. Suggestions on attire and/or places to shop would be most welcome.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.