2001-05-29
11:19 p.m.

Thoreau "went to the woods because [he] wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if [he] could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when [he] came to die, discover that [he] had not lived."

I, on the other hand, went to the woods to await my family. To spend Memorial Day 2k1 in the company of the loved. Presumably, Thoreau was sucessful in his attempt. I, however, was not.

The plan was for me to get to the Cabin on Saturday, spend the night there by myself (which I was convinced would be no problem), and have the place all opened up and ready when the rest of the fam got there on sunday. Most were only staying a night, but a few of us would be staying through Tuesday. I was excited. It was going to be a great weekend.

The spending of the night by myself thing wasn't a problem until the next morning. The next morning was freeeezing and the heaters weren't working and all the firewood was wet, so i couldn't get a fire going. Then I found an article about how the sightings of mountain lions were on the rise in south-central PA. So I started thinking about how those kind of cats sound just like a screaming woman or a screaming child and that if i had heard that from off in the woods in the middle of the night when I was all alone, I'd have freaked the fuck out. I mean I would have wept. Wept and loaded my shotgun. And soiled myself.

My cell phone doesn't get service at the cabin, and the cabin itself has no phone, so it wasn't until i drove into 3 Springs later that day that I got the message that the whole family had bailed (for one reason or another) and that it was just going to be me and Sis and BroInLaw. So it was us. And we had fun. But it wasn't the same. Wasn't what it could've been. Sis and BroInLaw had to leave on Monday and I sure as hell wasn't spending a night alone there. Not with scary screaming mountain cats on the prowl.

So I came home.

But in some ways, I want to be back there. Alone. Or with my family. Miles away from the real. Walking up the ridge or down to the creek or napping at the top of the bluff. Anywhere but the real world.

That's my favorite; napping at the top of the bluff.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.