2001-07-02
11:05 p.m.

Ahhh.... the fine art of slacking. I took this week off work, partially because the second half of the week will be spent out of town, but mostly just because I could.

And it feels good. Not being at work, I mean. Sometimes I feel guilty when I take purely personal days from work. Like I should be there if only to put in face time. But today I was smiling almost all day because I was free and will be for the next week.

Anyway, the weekend was good. I just typed put every minute of the weekend and then deleted it all, because I got bored just reading what I'd done. So here are the highlights:
1.) Not getting into a screaming match with the GirlIHate at water street. (Unlike the last time I saw her which just got ugly.)
2.) Watching movies with Joe and Amanda and goofing off at the mall.
3.) Witnessing that we, as a society, are completely jaded as the (non-fire drill) mall fire alarm went off for thirty minutes before anyone decided to stop shopping and evacuate the mall.
4.) Taking my 14 year old cousin to the movies on Sunday night.
5.) Getting weird looks from people who thought it was a little weird for a 24 year old guy to take a 14 year old to the movies.
6.) Laughing at said idiots with cousin.

Tomorrow I'm leaving for my family's mountain cabin up in Pennsylvania. There's no phone, no tv, no internet. But there are miles and miles of trees, ridges, creeks, and mostly, miles of quiet. I won't be able to update, but maybe I'll keep an (eep) old-fashioned diary and scan it all in when I get back on Sunday.

So, for lack of anything more constructive to write, I take my leave of you. For you Americans, Happy 4th of July! For anyone else, happy 4th too. Go celebrate your own personal brand of freedom.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.