2001-07-09
3:24 p.m.

I've been busting my ass all day.

We spun one of our divisions off into it's own little company over the weekend. Everything went smoothly. Everything, that is, except for the conversion program that would ensure that our recruiters continue to receive their paychecks. As it stood at 10:30 this morning, they weren't getting paid. They didn't *know* that, but that's the way it was. So I've spent most of the day running all kinds of info from the system, so that internal payroll can manually figure out how much we owe each of our recruiters so that they can, in fact, put food on the table for another week.

A little while ago, I went downstairs to get a soda. Recruiter training is taking place today and the first floor of the building was crawling with them. Little slicky boys in their suits and their Drakkar Noir and little bitchy girls in their dkny and their prada bags. Full of attitude. I squeezed past several to just get out of the elevator and was greeted with rolled eyes and mumbled curses. How dare I try to get off the elevator! The nerve of not wanting the lobby to be a slalom course! One girl huffed at me when I asked her to move so that I could get a soda. "YOU PEOPLE COULD SHOW A LITTLE MORE RESPECT!!!", I yelled in my head. "I've put my entire day on hold so that you'll get your miserable paychecks on Wednesday and this is the thanks I get???" They didn't hear that, of course. Unless there were any psychics in the room, all they saw was my face going red.

When I got back upstairs, there was a card waiting for me in my mailbox. The outside says: Today marks an Important Day in our Company History. The inside reads: Your Anniversary! We appreciate your contributions to our success. None if it hand written, not even the label on the envelope. Even the signature of our VP of HR was stamped on.

I've been at this job two damn years. I want to cry.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.