2001-07-23
10:19 a.m.

Well, it is twenty after ten on a monday morning and I am officially finished all my work for the day. I'd claim being sick and go home and sleep, but the bossMan and ErikTheGuyIWorkWith are both out today, so there is no "coverage." And, in case you don't know Corporate-speak, "coverage" really means "coverage of my boss' ass."

So here I sit. Tired, bored, and grinning like an idiot over this weekend. I met a girl, see. And she's cool. And she's interesting. And she gave me her phone number. And she's expecting a call from me so's we can do dinner.

But, I'll get to that in a moment.

As I may have mentioned, this weekend was the 4th Annual Loyola Midsummer's. Midsummer's was founded, well, four years ago by exRoomie #1 as a reason to get the old crew (and the extended old crew, and friends of the old crew, and random drunks off the street) back together to enjoy a night of camaraderie and all the while pretend we were still in college. Since Loyola's a bar school, he rented one of the "Loyola bars" and held it there. Four years, and many hazy memories later, Midsummer's has turned into an event and I am lucky enough to be one of the 'coordinators'. What does that mean? It means I get to plan, but more importantly, it means that I get a really cool tshirt and never have to wait in line at the bar. The specials this year were $15 all you can drink beer, rail drinks, and wine 8pm - 2am, with $2 shots the whole night. 'Twas fun. 'Twas very fun.

The bar was hot as hell, but I got to see people I hadn't seen since last year. Friends that now live in New York, the West Coast, the Carribean. I met some new people, had alot of laughs, and really got no sleep. The day after, some of us went to brunch at Mother's (Mmmm.... breakfast quesadilla...) and eventually ended up at my buddy Rich's place to bbq, play bocce (sp?), and lounge in his over-sized kiddie pool.

So, again, here I sit tired beyond belief and happy.

Now. About this girl. I am tempted not to write anything, fo fear that it'll jinx it. She's a friend of a friend, which is how I met her, but we talked for what seemed like hours. Although it could've been like 20 minutes. Details, details. Around 2, the bouncers started kicking everyone out and I realized that I didn't want to stop talking with her. So I told her that I thought she was a really interesting person and that I liked getting to know her, but that I'd like to get to know her a little better and that I didn't do this that often, in fact I never do it, but could I have her phone number and maybe she'd like to go out to dinner and get to know me a little better. She smiled this big cutie smile, and gave me her number.

That was saturday night. I didn't want to call her sunday, because I was effectively a zombie by the time I got home and *that* would've been a good conversation. So I figure I'll call her tonight and see how it goes.

But for now I'm Happy. Because I asked a girl for her number. She smiled and said yes.

Sometimes it is so simple.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.