2001-07-26
10:07 a.m.

Dear CharmCity,

Yes, I know you're excited about tonight. Yes I know you like her. Yes, I even know that you have a "really good feeling" about this. But dude, seriously, relax. You're going to be fine. Just fine. I know how you like to play the scenes out in your head; the best case, the worst case. You do it just so you can get a taste of what might happen. And I'll tell you this: It's not going to be as good as the best case, but it's also not going to be as bad as the worst case. Like I said before, you'll do fine.

She is a great girl, and truth be told, there probably is some potential. But be careful, buddy. I'm sure by now you've already caught yourself imagining the two of you three or four dates, three or four weeks, three or four months into it. That's fun, I know, but it is a little dangerous too. Tonight is, and please repeat this with me, Just. A. Date. You'll pick her up, you'll drive to the restaurant, you'll order drinks, you'll order dinner, you'll talk, you'll learn, you'll laugh, you might go out for more drinks after, you might go get ice cream, you might just take her home. The point of tonight is exactly that, tonight. Not tomorrow, not next week, not some nebulous "future". The point is to have fun and make a new friend.

Trust me on this, OK?

Sincerely,

Yourself.



downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.