2001-09-11
7:02 p.m.

My God.

I think for maybe the first time in my life I am speechless. I know people that work near the Pentagon. I went to college with people that worked in the WTC. I can't make sense of this. I can't fathom the level of pure hate that would accept 20,000 casualties as 'acceptable.' I can't believe that this would happen to us. I can't imagine NYC without the WTC. I can't grasp the incredible hubris involved in attacking the seat of the most powerful military in history.

I know that I will pray myself to sleep tonight. I know that I drove faster than I ever have in order to get home today. I know that I am scared. I know I'll be scared for a long time to come.


Below is an email response to a message my friend Jess sent from the west coast. I don't know the girl who responded, and thus am really posting her words without her OK, but I thought it a profound illustration of what happened in NYC today.

Read it. And say a little prayer.

Jess
Thanks for writing
It was the scariest thing I have ever had happen. I go to school 5 block away - on the same avenue I had a 9:00 class so I was in the area- The World Trade Center/ Chambers Street is usually my train stop - today I was running late and took another line. As I am going over the bridge you could see smoke coming

off of one building. I get out from the subway and I am walking along the avenue toward school and the World Trade Center and saw the second plane hit the building and the explosion.
Classes were cancelled - everyone was inside our building frantic try to make phone calls and watch the news for some explanation. I am then shifting between inside the building and out - the 1st tower collapses - people are charging down the street in masses - I went back inside the building so I wouldn't get trampled, then the cloud of smoke and heavy soot filled the air.

Finally left the building and went to a friends office above Canal Street - then went to go and donate blood at St. Vincient's Hospital in the West Village. To get home I had to walk east through Manhattan and walk across the Bridge.

What a tragic day. I can't even deal with the full concept and magnitude of what has happened. I am so sad for all of the people, police and firefighters who are trapped. I hurts to think that other humans could cause such senseless destruction.

Scary day, but I am lucky. It was very close and extremely scary.




downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.