2001-10-27
9:48 p.m.

Remember, kids; immigrants cause disease. Yes they do. How do I know this, you ask. Well, my GrandMa told me. It must be true.

Because I'm a good grandson and because the 'rents and I won't be around tomorrow, I hiked GrandMa's 84-year old, non-driving ass over to church this evening. And since, as a family, everything we do must be accompanied by food, we had us a little dinner afterwards.

So, yeah, we were talking current events, and politics, and the state of the state of the union. GrandMa, bless her little heart, still thinks I'm the unbending, goose-stepping, hard core Rush Limbaugh protoge I was when I was 14. It scares her when I disagree with her. I think GWB has stepped up to the plate quite admirable, but when I admitted that, pre-9/11, I though he was, well, somewhat of a dope, G'Ma said I'd been "influenced by the liberal media." To which I answered "Bullshit." "What's that, dear?" "Oh..err...Push it. The ketchup. Can you push it over here?"

So that was fun. What else? Oh yeah. The "In my day everything was better" argument? I don't buy it. At all. I don't deny that times change. I don't deny that the pace of that change is accelerating. But society is not getting worse. It's not getting better either. It's just getting...different. The refusal to accept that is what causes frustration. It's that frustration that leads to life-was-so-much-better-when types of statements. So there.


You know, brotha and I have had our disagreements, but I've loved Jesus my whole life. I think tonight was the first time I liked him.

I could write a book about it, but if you have a Bible, go get it and read Luke 18:10-14. Then the priest said, replace the Pharisee with a Christian and the tax collector with a fundamentalist Muslim.

"That's why Jesus was so widely hated. Because his point was that it was never about what you said but how you acted. God doesn't play favorites."

So today, Jesus would condemn idiots like Falwell and praise the even-tempered followers of Islam?

Yep, JC's ok with me.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.