2002-03-28
11:49 p.m.

Geese, Mocksie! I saw some Canadian Geese.

This has been a horrible week. No, it's actually been a pretty bad two weeks or so. Some of the shit I've written about, some of it (believe it or not) is too private and remains between me and my family. All in all, two weeks I'd like to forget and two weeks I know I won't in quite sometime.

I am, by nature, somewhat of a skeptical person. I guess it goes hand in hand with my cynicism. I dunno. If I can't quantify it, it's not that I don't believe it, it's just that I put no stock in it.

What I'm sayin' is that over the last two weeks, at the two times I was at my lowest, I got a sign. Ok, two of them.

Last Saturday, I had spent all day with my Dad. It was a good day, a long day. He talked and I listened. And I learned. On my drive home I cried. I had taken the long way, the way that took me out through the country. About half way home, I was driving down a road that ran along the top of a hill. No lights except my headlights for miles. I just happened to take my eyes off the road and look up at the starry sky. At that moment - at that very moment - the single largest meteor I've ever seen streaked across the sky right in front of me. It seemed to be brighter than the moon. It looked like it was the size of a football. Somehow, I felt at peace.

Earlier this week, I had spent all night on the phone with my sister. She was angry, I was angry. Not at eachother, but still an extremely uncomfortable conversation. Thee next day, sitting alone in my car at lunch, two Canadian Geese landed right next to me. They stopped. They looked at me. They preened. They flew away. The peace returned.

Signs? I dunno. Maybe, maybe not.

But I hope so. I hope there's some larger power letting me know it will all be all right.





...in other news, I'm at the beach for the weekend. I'll try to take pics. See you on the flipside.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.