2002-05-08
4:53 p.m.

I think about writing alot. I think that, right now, if I had to choose what my dream job, it would be some kind of writer. Probably a columnist. Maybe a humor columnist. Maybe one of the general interest-story columnists. But with a funny twist.

I don't have any formal training. Hell, I don't have any informal training. But I like it. And, when I apply myself (which I feel I rarely do here) I can be good. And funny.

A few months ago, I wrote what I still think is a pretty kick-ass press release for my friend's congressional campaign. I've saved it as I do all my works that I'm proud of. And I take it and I take them out from time to time and read them. And wonder.

I was talking to my best new friend (Hi!) this weekend and she told me that she'd shown one of my funnier pieces to some coworkers of hers. And, unless my drunken ass is remembering this wrong, they were impressed. And that made me, well, proud. Not to pat myself on my back, but my friends (my usual audience) always tell me that I have talent and am funny. These were people I didn't know telling a friend that I had talent.

So, like I said, I wonder. I wonder how one gets started in all this. If I should even try.

I wonder what it would be like to write for people I didn't even know. (ok, there's this, but that's different) I wonder if they'd like me.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.