2002-06-24
2:22 p.m.

A quick question for ye, me hardies. (Apparently I've been posessed by an 18th century pirate.) What have I been doing more of today? a.)work or b.)emailing

If you answered a.)work, rest assured that I am laughing in your face right now and you should crawl under the nearest...something...in shame for such an embarassingly wrong answer. The fact is that I've been emailing all day.

And generally not enjoying it. Generally. There was one email I sent that doesn't fall into the 'suck' category. But that's not what I'm on about right now. No, for the majority of the day I've been emailing one friend in what may be a vain effort to persuade him why he shouldn't stop being friends with another friend of mine.

Confused? Me too.

A few weeks ago, I was out at the bar with Friend1 and Friend2 and they happened to get in a little bit of a scuffle. F2 had some pent up agression at F1 and it all came puring out in a Miller Lite and foosball catalyzed mess. So they stopped talking for a while and then when they started talking, it quickly decended to chaos once more. Now we're in a bit of a Cold War. The beginning of a long one. But instead of a US/Russian situation, this one would be better parallelled by a US/Great Britain cold war. Once strong allies, the two superpowers now silently fear and resent eachother. Or maybe just resent.

So, I've been reading too much history of late. You get the idea. Or, as we say in Western Maryland, you got th' ideer. Where we're at now is F1 and F2 not talking and both waiting on an apology from the other. And the thing is, neither side truly owes an apology. They're both right. And they're both wrong. But, when I've tried to explain that, they both hear that they're right and jump to the ill-found conclusion that the other side is in the wrong. They really need to sit down and talk it out. Maybe greased with a little liquor, maybe not. But they won't. Pride prohibits.

So now I'm trying to prepare each for losing the other as a friend. And hopefully spelling out what a horrible consequence that is.

But I won't be successful.

Call it pessimism if you will. I call it a realistic attitude.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.