2002-08-05
4:53 p.m.

Money. That's what I ended up giving as a wedding gift. I felt a little hinky about it; kinda like I was copping out. But several people told me that they loved seeing money when they got married so in the end that made my decision for me. Well, that as well as a great lack of creativity.

As weddings go, this one was surprisingly normal. I don't know exactly what I expected. Miles of satin and a brass quintet playing Canon in D, perhaps. But instead it was your standard Irish-Catholic moderately sized wedding.

At the end of the night, right before the bride and the groom snuck away to get some 'rest' before leaving early the next morning for sunnier and sandier climes, I got a few quiet minutes alone with my friend. We talked about how long we'd known eachother and where we met and how far we've come as friends - all of us - and how unbelievably lucky the group of us are to have found eachother. And, God bless her, she started tearing up. Not much. Just a little. I had an extra napkin. She took it from me, looked at me, and couldn't speak. "You're welcome," I said. She smiled, found her husband, and said her goodbyes.

Congratulations, my friend. All the happiness in the world.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.