2002-09-26
9:38 a.m.

Sixty Five degrees. Somewhere down south, Isadore moves along. Coming this way. It's like the clouds know something's going to happen, and we know too. But no one wants to say anything about it.

I had one of those moments a few nights ago. One of those times where everything clicks into place, and you're given the briefest of glimpses into another world.

I had been walking up toward the harbor. It was a nice night, warm but not hot. Slightly humid. Someone was on the loudspeaker at the football stadium. Singing something. It was distorted though; unclear. It sounded more like chanting. Or some sort of lament. I turned down a side street and walked between two buildings being demolished. Suddenly, I was in the middle east. Walking among the bombed out buildings, a prayer to Allah coming from the ziggerut. For just a second I understand what it would mean to live in a place like that.

I rounded the corner to find the Domino's and the 7-11. I was back.


...not too much going on today. My allergies have come back with a vengence, but (oddly enough) are not demanding that I stay in bed. Right now, I feel like my head's been frozen in mid-sneeze and wedged between the matress and the boxspring. I have kickball tonight, so that's cool. That's right, I said kickball. Don't knock it 'till you try it, boyo. I can't tell you how much fun our 1st game was. Sure we lost, but there's something extremely appealing about playing a game we all last played in middle school. We're bringing a keg this week. Anyone that strikes out? Kegstand.

Saturday I'll be kayaking if the weather agrees with me. I've only ever been once before, but it's loads of fun. Add a picinic lunch and a cute girl to the mix and we just might have the perfect Saturday.


Ok, off to work. Look for another entry later today.

But don't get your hopes up or anything.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.