2002-10-07
2:43 p.m.

This weekend I went from zero to eighty in under two seconds. I roadtripped with friends. I laughed and yelled and got soaked and didn't care. This weekend I stayed on the ride because there was no one in line. I stayed up late and slept like a baby. This weekend I ate carival food and watched people. I met the candidate for Lieutenant Governor. I walked the deck of a topsail schooner. This weekend I spoke with a man who has been taking pictures of my town for almost sixty years. This weekend I listened. This weekend I learned. This weekend I sat in a bar with friends and watched four different football games at once. I cursed the Rams. I cheered the Ravens. This weekend I laid on the couch and talked on the phone to a wonderful girl. This weekend I stayed up late and read until I fell asleep.

This morning, I got to work early. This morning I was berated for not being psychic. I put out fires. (Metaphorical, of course.) I juggled five different problems all demanding my total attention. This morning I was handed a plate full of attitude.

I napped at lunch. Partly because I was tired. Mostly though, it was because the sun was shining and the wind was up and, for thirty minutes, I could pretend that life should always be as perfect as it was this weekend.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.