2002-10-08
9:41 a.m.

Oh man, oh man, oh man. It was another banner evening in the white-trash wilds of South Baltimore.

I came home to find a massive pile of...stuff...deposited infront of the rowhouse four or five doors up. And by "massive" I really mean "completely blocking the sidewalk and taking up two parking spaces. What did the stuff consist of? Oh, there were tables and chairs and mattresses and lamps and kitchen stuff and pictures and lots and lots of general what not.

You guessed it. My neighbor had been evicted.

The other residents of my block launched a valient expedition to clear a path so that sidewalk traffic could proceed unimpeded. And that's where the fun started.

The block was *crawling* with people last night. I don't know where they all came from, but one thing was clear: what they came to do. Like vultures on a carcass, they were picking the remains clean.

When I left for work this morning, all that was left was a cracked bed frame and some coat hangers. A few boxes here and there, but nothing -nothing- of value.

Now I know what you're thinking; what was my take of the booty. Nothing. Not a thing. I wouldn't have sifted through their stuff looking for some worthless trinkets.

But the thought did cross my mind.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.