2002-10-14
2:05 p.m.

Ahhh, the perfect Fall day. Or, it would be if the leaves had changed and I wasn't at work. Other than that though, no complaints. I love this temperature.


It's cool enough that there's mild regret over wearing the golf shirt, but not so cold that you're uncomfortable. The air feels crisp and smells fresh. It's as if the 90 degree days of two months ago were a necessary indulgence. Get 'em out there, get 'em out of the way, and get on to the real business of lounging around in jeans and wool sweaters. I love summer. But my heart rises when the leaves fall.

Yes, I am kicking my own ass for typing that. I mean seriously, how stupid did that sound. I'm really getting wuss-ified in my old age, ain't I?

Lesson of the weekend: Never lay the jinx down on yourself. Saturday night theGirl and I went up to White Marsh to watch Red Dragon. Even though the place crawls with the scary highschoolers wearing things like dog collars, one of the reasons I like going to White Marsh is the big Barnes and Noble down the street. So much better that the shitty Books-A-Million in Arundel Mills. Anyway, I was all brag-tastic about how this particular B&N had never let me down. Oh no - they always had the book I was looking for. The loud smacking sound you're hearing is the industrial-sized jinx slamming into the side of my head. I wandered off to find the book I was looking for. And, you guessed it (you sly one, you), it was nowhere to be found. The next day, we were down in Fell's and I slid on into Record and Tape Traders to see if I could find the DVD. Of course it'd be there; they have every DVD ever made. Or not - I couldn't find it.

I don't know what my fixation is with this thing. The movie was good, and I've heard tell that the book's supposed to be much better. But, it's like I can't get it out of my mind. Or crime books at all for that matter. My current read is, of course, the basis of a great movie. What my fixation with crime is right now, I couldn't tell you. But it is damn interesting.

Speaking of such, am I the only one who is confused by the last scene of the Sopranos last night? Tony sits alone in the stable. Outside, the pouring rain. A sick horse and goat his only companions. Am I missing symbolism here? Somehow I think the Caddilac of hidden meaning has is in the shop and wasn't present for this episode. Still, I also have the feeling that someone will say, "Duh. Chase is making a comment about the inner turmoil that haunts us all. The sick horse is Tony's relationship with Carm, the annoying goat is his conflict of morals, and the pouring rain represents the inevitability of all things. How stupid are you?"

Pretty stupid, apparently. In any case, I so totally love the explanation I've just come up with and make a solemn vow to you, cherished reader, to work the phrase "inevitability of all things" into normal conversation before thw workday's over.

Peace.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.