2002-11-07
3:35 p.m.

I know someone's waiting to read my take on the MidTerms, but the truth is I just don't wanna think about politics for a while. I've been overloaded lately with Iraq and Gubernatorial elections. My ideology needs a rest.

But before I move on, one quick question. Anyone read the paper over the last few days? If so, read between the lines. We're in the midst of the self-destruction of the current Democratic Party leadership. Gephardt's resigned, Daschle may not be too far behind. Why? Because the Democrats honestly believed that the 2000 presidential election was rigged and were betting all their chips on the fact that the 2002 midterms would show who the American People really wanted to be in power. The problem with betting all your chips is that if you're not careful - you could lose. And that's exactly what happened on Tuesday. It never occured to Democratic leaders (whether on the national level or on the state) that the silent majority of voters might disagree with them. The leaders listened to the slanted viewpoints of celebrities and professional pundits and mistakenly assumed the voters held the same views. Bush? Illegitimate ascension to power. Economy? Plummeted the day he took office.

Well, we're not that stupid. The average American voter has understood the purpose and function of the Electoral College since somewhere around 8th grade. Economy? Started it's downward trend in the latter part of ol' Willie's administration. Moreover, Democrat's foot-dragging on national defense confused and frustrated average voters.

What I don't think the Democrats ever realized is that the average blue-collar voter, the voters they took for granted, can be defined by their practicalness. These are hard times. Voters don't want millions of dollars allocated to fund a committee to study the causes and effects of middle-eastern Islamic terror. Not at all. Someone's over there pointing a gun at us? Take care of him. My bank account's getting a little thin? Well then, I want some of my tax dollars back.

The talking heads and newspaper columnists will tell you that Republicans swept the elections by hitching themselves to the President's star. OK, fine, I'm sure that helped. But when it comes down to it, the Democratic leadership of 2002 didn't understand what voters were looking for. The Republicans did. That's why they won.

And, despite what anyone will tell you, it is indeed that simple.




See? See what you people make me do? You make me go and use my brain instead of using the last hour to play online minigolf. Thanks alot.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.