2003-02-11
4:08 p.m.

Hey! HEY!!!

France, I've got a real problem with you. You too, Germany. Ohhhh, and Belgium? Don't think I don't see you trying to sneak out the back. The three of you should be ashamed of yourselves and I think you know why. Don't even try to prentend like you don't.

No, I'm not talking about the lack of support for the pending war with Iraq. Although, seriously, that chafes a bit. You believe whatever it is you believe about international doctrine. I happen to disagree with you, but fine; whatever. Rock on with your ostrich-head-in-the-sand-edness. No, my problem with you three is that you're all, what's the proper diplomatic idiom? Oh yeah, gigantic asses.

From this article.

France, Germany and Belgium yesterday blocked NATO efforts to begin planning to protect Turkey in case of a war with Iraq, prompting a public call for emergency consultations under the alliance's mutual defense treaty for the first time in its 53-year history.

Mind you, no one's asking France, Germany or Belgium to go to war. All they're being asked for is their ok to create a plan to defend Turkey should war come that way. And they won't do it. They don't want a war with Iraq, that much is already on the record. But now? Now they don't want their friends to be able to defend themselves should war erupt.

"It would signify that we have already entered into the logic of war, that ... any chance, any initiative to still resolve the conflict in a peaceful way was gone," Belgian Foreign Minister Louis Michel said yesterday in Brussels.

Well, that's a staggering intellectual leap. By that logic, I should never install a burglar alarm on my house because to do so would indicate that any chance I have of dissuading said robber through constructive dialogue doesn't exist. Why, the very presence of my alarm sends a message to the burglar community that their intrusion to my home is a forgone conclusion. You see? I gave them no choice.

What a colossal load of crap.

Like all things in my life, it all comes back to the bar. If you're friend gets into a fight; you get their back. If the big beefy asshole by the bathroom threatens your friend; you back your friend up or get them the hell out of there. You never, NEVER, let your friend get their ass kicked.

France, Germany, and Belgium are telling Turkey that they're on their own. If one Turk dies because of that, the blame lies squarely in central Europe.




downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.