2003-02-13
11:12 a.m.

When I was a kid, my world was filled with GI Joes and Schwarzenegger movies. I spent my time building forts and spray painting my toy guns black. I was soldier whether there was a war or not. I was eager to fight the bad guys.

I always liked going to DC around Memorial Day. The Army would always park a tank or a helicopter on the Mall in front of one of the monuments. For that brief time, I could pretend that I was on the front lines; that the war had come to Washington.

Right now, on the Mall, in front of the monuments, there are anti-aircraft missles. The crew manning this awesome firepower may be young, they may be scared. If they're anything like me, they're wondering how it all came to this. They lean against their Humvee and scan the skies above their Nation's Capitol. They scan the skies over the homes of their friends. They listen for the roar of a jet. They look for a contrail high above. They wait for that one powerful and dreadful word.

Fire.

And, just like that, the War will have come to Washington.






downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.