2003-02-21
4:10 p.m.

As if the foot of snow that's still clogging all the good parking spots isn't bad enough, it's now pouring down rain.

Insult, meet Injury. And fuck you both.

The post-work hours last night consisted of four main activities.

Activity #1:Attending the mandatory yet after-business-hours divisional meeting.
Blah blah blah financial performance and whatnot. Just tell me: do I still have a job? Yes? Al right then. I wiled the rest of the hour away by simultaneously rolling my eyes at and secretly and desperately wanting the 'Impact Player of the Year' award. (I didn't get it.)

Activity #2:Spending 50 minutes on mt 12 minute commute.
There were lights and sirens. I'm pretty sure that Iraq attacked the 295/100 cloverleaf with a dirty bomb, but I could be wrong about that. Regardless, I was able to get off and head over to 95, where I got a good laugh at all the people queueing up to take the West Side Inner Loop of the Beltway. Suckers.

Activity #3: Trying to fend off the peer pressure of far too many peers.
The Spring 2003 season of kickball is about to get under way and last night was the signup happy hour. After the events of earlier this week, I'm a little gun shy as far as the whole intoxicating-beverage thing is concerned, so I did what I normally do when I'm out but not drinking. Namely, sip my Diet Coke and make snarky comments about people I don't know. Ok, I do that when I'm drinking too, I just do it with much less tact and FAR TOO LOUD. Anyway, apparently my guzzling was quite the issue as said guzzling involved caffeine and not liquor. 4 different friends pulled me aside to ask why I wasn't drinking and if there was a problem. Ummm, shouldn't that be a warning sign when friends are concerned that you *don't* have a beer in your hands? Anyway, they all tried to buy me drinks. Repeatedly. Too the point where it was damn annoying. So, I did what I always do in times of crisis. I took a deep breath, removed myself from the situation, and bought a cheese steak.

Activity #4: Sleep
Self explanitory.

Tonight I'm sneaking out of work early, grabbing a bite with a buddy at what is rapidly becoming my favorite bar/restaurant/dog-intensive area in the city and then seeing a movie involving a blind man in red spandex that fights crime.

I wanna fight crime. But I'm not picky about what color spandex I get. As long as the chick from 'Alias' can be my partner.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.