2003-03-07
2:37 p.m.

Hmmm.....

So many potential topics to write about, and thus, none of them will get the attention they deserve.

I thought the President's speech last night was, well, is 'lackluster' an appropriate political descriptor? I don't think it did much of anything to convince people either way, and in any case, I'm not sure that that's what it was designed to do. For the most part, those pro- or anti- war are going to stay that way. At this point, the arguments and the convincing have to come from within, not from the outside. We're going to war - that much is essentially a forgone conclusion. Someone (perhaps here) suggested that it was much more a speech for the EU and the rest of the world than it was for the average US citizen. And I tend to agree with that. The only real piece of news to come out of the speech is that the US and the UK will wait for another vote on a resolution. I have a feeling we're doing that to get the EU dissentors on record. That way, when we go in to Iraq and it becomes that much easier to see the danger and instability of Saddam's regime, France and Germany and Russia won't be able to do a rhetorical 180 and claim they were on board after all.

Anyway, the President's mood matched mine. And, I'd guess, that of many of those willing to depose Saddam. Namely "This sucks and I'm tired of it. But let's get it on, let's get it over with, and let's move on."




If you're looking to eat cheap all week, try this:

2 pouches of minute rice
1 can of whole kernel corn
1 can of red kidney beans
1 can of diced tomatos (or is there an 'e' in there? Damn you Dan Quayle!)

Add some boneless skinless chicken if you want, spice to taste. It's seriously tasty and damn, damn cheap. $3.47 fed me for three nights. Boo ya!




I'm trying to finagle my way into sneaking out of here ealry today, but I'm not sure if that's going to be possible. I have to stop in Fredneck to pick up a suitcase, and two guns that need to be sighted in. After that, It's up to Hagerstown to wait at Dad's for the Sister and the broInLaw to come pick me up. Then, it's the three of us and JackTheBlackLab and a nice 2 hour drive up to the cabin. I'm kind of tempted to just drive up there myself and wait for them, but three things are stopping me.

1. It's a one mile walk from the main road past the gate and down the lane to the cabin.
2. S.Central PA got more snow than we did.
3. It's quite possible that the Honda would get stuck in a drift.

So I'll wait. But if I'm lucky, the world's best cold cut sub will be on the dinner menu, so who am I to complain?




Monday will most likely not be a good day. Remember my cousin? Well the pre-trial hearing is on Monday and I'll be going. I've never seen a murderer in person, let alone one that killed someone I loved. I hope, well, so many things. That my aunt will hold up, that the family will *be* together in additon to being together, that I can accept some of the reality of the situation. Mostly though, I hope Jo knows how very much I miss her.




la la la....clearing the air...la la la..... happy thoughts happy thoughts..... silver lining? You betcha!




VEGAS!!!! I leave for Vegas on the 13th and reurn the following Monday. It's my first trip and I really only have 2 success criteria.

1. Don't go broke.
2. Return with a 'Wayniac' tshirt.

I seriously can't wait. If any of you bastards want your very own post card from me, just make sure to send me your mailing address by tuesday, and I promise you'll get some bonafide Sin City CharmCity lovin'.

I promise not to show up on your doorstep and act all stalkerish. Unless you're, you know, a nympho. And hot.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.