2003-08-20
4:25 p.m.

I'd like to preface this entry by fully admitting that I'm being petty. Possibly callow. Although, technically I don't really know what callow means.

So, a few weeks ago I threw together the latest Charmcity-penned Funny Email for the purposes of advertising this weekend's RoomieBirthdayBash. I did what I always do. Write it up, proof read, second guess, rewrite, reproof, send to the roomie. He gets it first because his address book is bigger than mine. Way bigger. His address book is bigger than some third world countries.

Anyway, I'm bored at work today and combing through my email's trash file and, just because I find myself terribly amusing, I read my email that was sent through his account.

And he's changed it.

Not much, mind you. A word here, a moved punctuation there. Nothing that effects the overall flow of the message. But it's not really mine anymore. And it's wrong.

I never got very good grades, but I did pay attention when it came to grammar. I know how to form a phrase, sentence, paragraph, whatever. I do alot of conversational writing and alot of train of thought and I'd like to think I do it well.

The changes he's made don't mangle the message, they don't bring the unfunny. I guess it's just the implied message that I have a problem with. My roommate doesn't see my funny email as mine. It goes through his account and he sees it as his. Just ignore the fact that I might have put alot of time into it - that I might be proud of it.

Oh, and when someone at the party mentions that it was a funny email, I won't get to hear him say "Yeah, Mike's a funny guy."

I'll get to hear him say "Thanks."


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.