2002-02-28
11:59 p.m.

So...I've been doing some thinking.
Yeah?
Which is generally never a good thing.
Yeah?
And if I stammer and/or yammer, just tell me to shut up and get on with things.
Ok.
'Cause the thing is I'm kinda nervous and it's just that I'm not so good at things like this and I'm sorta, well...
Mike?
Yeah?
Shut up and get on with things.
Oh, ok. So, I've been doing some thinking.
Yup. You mentioned that.
Right. The thing is I'm really glad we met and I'm also really glad that we've gotten a chance to know eachother.
Yeah, it has been nice. So, I guess me too.
Totally nice. You're a great girl. I didn't think there were too many cool post-college people to meet, but here you are.
Here I am.
Indeed. Buuuttt....
But?
But I think I've suddenly or slowly or somehow come to the conclusion that I'm not quite looking for a long term thing. You know; relationship and whatnot. I mean I may be waaaay jumping the gun here, but I didn't want there to be two entirely different sets of expectations going on here. That's never healthy.
No, it's not. Can I be honest?
Of course.
I could tell.
Tell what?
That you didn't want a long term relationship out of this.
Oooh. Ouch. I'm so sorry. Really, if I was ever a jerk, it certainly wasn't intentional. I'm a guy. I'm an idiot. Damn, all of a sudden I feel really bad.
Oh, no. That's not what I meant at all. I just meant to say that I'm not surprised to hear you say all this, but I'm happy that you were (and no offense intended) mature enough to say something. Most guys would have just stopped calling or turned the jerkiness level up to 'overt.'
Well, I'm not most guys.
No, my friend, you are certainly not.
So. We're cool?
Sure. We're cool.




Dude. I told her.
Really? How'd she take it?
Good. Really good. Alot better than I thought. Maybe the best breakup ever.
Breakup? C'mon it's not like you two were at significant other status yet.
No, I know, but you know what I mean.
I do. So what'd you tell her?
The truth. I liked her. I like her. Just that I'm not looking for a relationship.
You understand that you said "I'm not looking for a relationship," but she heard "I'm not looking for a relationship with you."
Yeah. I know. I thought of that on the drive home.
Life sucks sometimes, doesn't it?
Yeah buddy, it really does.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.