2001-02-27
15:47:12

Hmmm....I don't know if I want to talk about this weekend or just ramble. The way this day is going, I'm gonna need some quality ramblin' time later so I may as well close out the weekend now...

************************

As many of you know, the MidAltantic States (motto: The States with the Weather You Love to Hate!) got a leetle bit o' snow at the end of last week. Normally by a little, I'd mean alot, but this time i really do mean a little - only 6 or so inches, not to bad, right? Well you'd be wrong - very wrong. Y'see, even though everyone knew the storm was coming; weather men (don't get me started), the public works peeps, commuters, we all acted like nothing at all was going to happen. Well what *did* happen was that by the time it was at its peak, not only were the freakin' roads not freakin' salted, they weren't getting freakin' cleared! So what would have been a minor-to-extremely-moderate snowfall suddenly turned into DeathJam 2001.

I'd like to stress at this point that I was much more mature than everyone else and stayed off the roads. I'd like to stress that, but I can't. Noooooo....Mike decides to leave for the beach in the middle of this little mama-nature/state roads dept clusterfuck. For the beach. In the snow. In my honda.

I. Am. Truly. Stoopid.

It took more than 2 hours to go 25 miles! I almost wrecked 3 times, almost slid off the road twice and was in a foul mood. By the time I crossed the Bay Bridge (motto: 4 Miles of Sheer Terror in a Snowstorm!) I had had enough. I pulled into a Comfort Inn, called my friend Kate and had her stop there too and she and I and Roomie#1 crashed there for the night. Had a good dinner at the restaurant across the street (miraculously open - we were the only customers) and watched survivor and went to bed.

The roads were fine the next morning. The weekend was good. I was so worn out that I played hooky yesterday - I am *such* a child.

I never ended up kicking ass in Beer Pong - actually i did pretty good at getting my ass kicked. But it was fun. Now if only everyone would stop teasing me about losing, I'd be fine.

And Yes, I did go swimming. And no, I wasn't drunk. I just don't know if that somehow makes it better or far, far worse.

***************************

The finale of 'The Mole' is on tonight...I can't wait. I think its Jim, but if the show was really crafty, they'd have made it Anderson.

later skater,

Mike

...by the way, what's up with me giving everything a motto?


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.