2001-06-18
4:41 p.m.

So have I mentioned that I'm going to hell? What? I didn't. Well then, let me fill you in.

You see, I am blasphemous, according to Mom. Well, maybe not fully blasphemous, but the book I'm reading surely is. The book in question is Blameless in Abaddon. (Recommended by her.)In it, the two-mile long body of God is discovered and when it is learned that God is not, in fact, dead - merely in a coma - is put on ice and has a theme park built around it. When a small-town judge gets cancer and loses his wife in the same week, he decides to put God on trial - for crimes against Humanity.

What the book really is, is a study in theodicy. That is, the study of how and why evil can exist in the presence of an all-knowing, all-powerful, all-benevolent god.

My reading lately has consisted of stupid star trek novels and books i've already read a dozen times before, and it feels good to dust off the brain and put it to good use.

So anyway, after I told mom what the book was about, she calmed down a little, but I'm still forbidden to tell grandma anything about it. I guess they're not too comfortable with asking the big questions. They think we should take it all on faith. But then you see my problem. Sometimes, I don't want to.


The weekend was good. We left Frederick at 6am on saturday and were at the boat by 9:30. The sis and broinlaw were stuck in traffic, so we had half the hull sanded down by the time they got there. We managed to get the other half sanded by the time the rains rolled in (damn you Allison!). We goofed off the rest of the day: ran down to the West Marine store, drove around and looked at the old houses (some have been there since the 1600's!) and checked in to the Bed and Breakfast. Yes, when my family travels, we do it in style. No Holiday Inn express for us, nosiree. That and the fact that a.) the free lodging was taken and b.) the next closest lodging with vacancies was about 30 minutes away. But the b&b was nice. The innkeepers were great hosts, and there was a jacuzzi in my room. I loves me my jacuzzi! We ate at a great restaurant in town where I got tuna steak. Almost as much as I loves me my jacuzzi do I loves me my tuna steak!

The next day, we put two coats of paint on the hull, cleaned out the cockpit (heh...*cock*pit) and the cabin and attached the new tiller. Sis's main and jib will be all mended in 3 weeks, and then I get to remind them that, oh yeah, I know how to sail too.


So to sum up; I'm not a heretic. But the author of my book may be. I loves me my tuna, but I loves me the jacuzzi more.And...

...bring on the wind. We're three weeks shy of sailin' time!


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.