2002-05-13
10:07 a.m.

I've been going to the same house at the same beach almost my entire life. At first it was as guests of a family friend. Then, later, the family of the family friend became family. I've always enjoyed the ocean. I've always loved the water and the wind and the salt spray that just sorf of hangs over everything. I like the shops and the people and the food (ohh, the food). I like the energy in the summer and the calm of the offseason.

It's only been within the last few years that the beach has really connected with me. Connected with my soul. I know that sounds stupid. I know it sounds cliche. I'm actually kicking myself under my desk for typing those words. And, damn, I can kick hard.

But it's true. I remember when it happened too. A few years ago, I was down at the beach and depressed over something I can't remember now. No, that's not entirely true. I can remember exactly wat I was depressed over. I'm just not going to write about it. So, there I was, depressed and standing what I'm sure was too far out at the end of a jetty. Waves were crashing around me, not so slowly getting me wet. The wind was blowing in off the water. And I remember thinking that nothing important mattered. That, at this place, everything of consequence was held at bay (pun? not intended.) and that I could just be me. Unfiltered.

That feeling has stayed with me on each vist since then. I love the ocean for its beauty and I love it for the me that I am. The me it brings out.



So, yeah, the weekend was good. The drive down sucked, but anyone heading downy ohshun from the DC/Baltimore area could tell you that the Friday commute across the Bridge is alway a bear. I ended up getting there around 8 and went out to get food/beer with my cousin. Saturday we all ate a big breakfast and took the dogs for a long walk on the beach. No, technically, you're not supposed to. But you're really not supposed to drink on the beach and we were doing that too. The dogs had a ton of fun playing catch in the surf. So much fun that the cousin and the broInLaw and I decided we needed to go swimming. And, yes, it was cold. But not DiCaprio's-about-to-sink cold. Spent the evening hanging out on the porch and watching a few eps of Trading Spaces. Which, it turns out, can be fun when you're tipsy. Sunday we flew some kites on the beach which, surprisingly, did not suck like I had suspected it would. And then I came home. Dammit. Home is ok, but with far less water and salt water taffy than I'd prefer.

Oh, and I got to talk to someone that has been making me smile a hell of alot lately. Probably more than she realizes. And someone who could not be nasty, even if she tried.


downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.