2001-05-21
10:45 p.m.

"You ran into her where?"
"At the Harbor."
"Wow."
"I know."
"When did you two hook up?"
"Freshman Year."
"Wow."
"I know."
"What's she like?"
"The same I think. We didn't talk too much."
"Then or now?"
"Both."
"And you haven't seen her since..."
"...Freshman Year."
"That was so long ago."
"Not that long."
"Yeah dude, it was six entire years ago."
"1995."
"That's the one."
"We were really different back then."
"Not really."
"No, we were. Four words buddy: jean shorts and plaid."
"Oh my God. I forgot about that."
"Yeah really, what were we thinking?"
"And we thought we looked great."
"Better than great."
"No wonder nobody liked us."
"People liked us.
"Not many. People humored us, but that's not the same thing."
"No, I guess you're right."
"You know what was funny about that year? That squirrel..."
"...that Tom started to feed from your window."
"Yeah! and how he..."
"...got all sad when it stopped coming around."
"Dude! I love the fact that you can still..."
"...finish your sentences. I'm a good friend."
"You are. Totally a good friend."
"You're a good friend too, man. I remember you talking Surfer Joe out of kicking my ass."
"Yeah."
"That wasn't a good night for me."
"That wasn't a good night for any of us."
"I yelled at Phil that night."
"He was a jerk."
"Still is a jerk."
"No he's not."
"Not really, but it's funny how those old grudges stay with you."
"Remember Butler Ball?"
"How could I forget? We must have spent hours in the mud and the rain playing football."
"I'm amazed no one ever broke an arm."
"Or got hit by lightning."
"Nice, dude."
"I'm just sayin'. We only played when it was storming. We had to have beat some odds along the way."
"That's almost descriptive of the year."
"That's almost descriptive of college in general."
"Hmmf."
"So how are things on Lon Guyland?"
"Duude!"
"Sorry. How are things on Long. Island. ?"
"Good. The Master's is almost behind me."
"That's great news. And the house?"
"Coming along. Renovations are under way. I might make an offer in a month or two."
"Wow."
"You?"
"Good. Crazy, but good. I move back to Frederick in a month."
"Oooohh...movin' back with the 'rents."
"Ohh, shush!"
"I know. This is good for you, right?"
"Very. It's really gonna give me a chance to refocus. To decide where I want to take my career."
"We're getting old you know."

"Totally."




downtown----uptown
leave me a note, fool!


designed by mocksie.
brought to you by diaryland.